top of page

Alisha

Updated: Jul 20, 2018


"One day, I just sat down with (my mom) at college...and I was just like 'Mom, I am gay' and she was like 'I know, I love you regardless. I don't care what nobody has to say. You're my daughter and as long as you happy, that's all that matters to me.'


"When I told her that I was getting married (because me and my girlfriend have been together almost four years), she's like 'I actually thought you guys were married and you just didn't tell me.' So that was a good response because I was scared to tell her.


"Now she can be there and that's the only person I worry about; my mom. I don't worry about nothing else...I feel like I have the world now.


"I salute people who went through a rough patch and are still here. I salute that because there are a lot of people that aren't just because of who they are. It's so important. I was crying coming down (to pride) because this is so beautiful. I didn't think it was this big. It's huge and I love it. All the colors and stuff like that. That's who we all are. We're all coming together and having a good time."

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weekend in Customers #1

Working at Munchers Bakery in Lawrence, Kansas, I see a lot of interesting people: travelers, regulars, families, friends, strange folk. When I get the chance I try to ask them two questions: "How was

bottom of page