top of page

Weekend in Customers #25

Working at Munchers Bakery in Lawrence, Kansas, I see a lot of people. When I get the chance I try to ask them two questions: "How was your morning?" and "What are you doing today?" Here were some of my favorite customers from the weekend of Sept. 1:


The Insomniac: It was still dark outside when the man walked in. He lived in Ottawa, but he couldn’t sleep--and when he couldn’t sleep he went to Munchers. This had been one of his go-to spots for the last 30 years. “My parents used to tell me that I when I get older I would have a hard time eating and sleeping,” he said. “Now, I know.”


The Traveling Friend: Her friend had just had a baby and she was traveling to Georgia to see them both. “Hopefully, no hurricanes,” she said.


The Segway Man: He had just come off the night shift and was about to work a day shift as the public safety officer at a KU football game---on a segway. “You get a nice little breeze as you float around,” he said.


The Long-Time Fan: He’d been a KU football fan for over 60 years. “I’ve seen some ups and downs,” he said.


The Bold One: She walked in wearing all purple. The girl who looked to be about eight years old was going to watch the KU football game with her family--but as a huge Kansas State University fan, she was going to take a stand. Purple leggings, purple shirt emblazoned with K-State, purple headband, purple wildcat earrings.


The Change of Pace: The older woman was going to visit her 100-year-old friend. Her friend was getting her pace-maker replaced later this week and she loved the mini cinnamon rolls. “Since the battery has been dying, she’s been a lot less energetic,” she said. “But I’m hoping this will perk her up.”


The Fashioned: Her toddler legs hung over the edge of the counter--her dad had sat her up there while he got out his wallet. “Your necklace is so pretty,” I said. “I love that it matches your dress.” She looked up at me with shy blue eyes and looked back down. “Her mom makes the dresses,” her dad told me.


The Unseen: A family of five entirely dressed in camouflage. I made the joke that they were invisible. No one laughed.


The Server: He was wearing a Texas Roadhouse shirt, ready to work the afternoon shift as a server. “Do you like your job there?” I asked. He turned around and pointed at the back of his shirt to show off the words, “I HEART my job.” “I do,” he said.


The Trickster: He was about 6-years-old and he told me that he loved watching basketball trick shot videos, however he was uncertain about whether or not he could do one.


The Happy Family: Two young kids and their mom--the older one had teal hair and the younger one (who wore a space shirt) told me they would like to be an astronaut someday.


The Disappointed: Munchers didn’t have anymore Hello Kitty cupcakes. The older woman was not okay with that.


Disclaimer: All quotes and experiences are recalled from memory so they may not be 100% accurate. Many of these encounters are brief, representing just a fraction of each person's story.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page