top of page

Weekend in Customers #27

Working at Munchers Bakery in Lawrence, Kansas, I see a lot of interesting people: travelers, regulars, families, friends, strange folk. When I get the chance I try to ask them two questions: "How was your morning?" and "What are you doing today?" Here were some of my favorite customers from Sept. 22


The Potterhead: She walked in with her grandma wearing a time-turner necklace like the ones from “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.” The young girl told me that her favorite Harry Potter characters were Ginny and Hermione. And when it comes to the Harry Potter movies, she says the books are much better.


The Eye-poker: There was a small family with a dad, two daughters, and a young crying baby. As the family left, one of the daughters turned to her dad, looked at her sister and said, “He’s upset because she poked him in the eye.”


The "Adult": The couple ordered a small cake and I asked them if there was any special occasion for the cake. “No,” the gentleman said. “We just like cake. I’ve reached the second phase of adulthood which is where I’ve realized I can just buy a cake for no reason.”


The Parent: He told me he was in town for family weekend and they did all the normal things: football, dinner, going out to the bars, etc.


The Summer Celebrators: She was getting donuts for an end of summer party, the day before the autumnal equinox.


Disclaimer: All quotes and experiences are recalled from memory so they may not be 100% accurate. Many of these encounters are brief, representing just a fraction of each person's story.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page